Five Things I’m Terrified of About Studying Abroad


So, for the most part,  when I think of studying abroad in Paris, happy thoughts flood my mind.

However, we’re all prone to over worry about things. And I definitely tend to over-think and over-worry everything in life. But I’m working on it! 

eiffel tour And there are lots of things that I’m super excited about–I mean, this is Paris we’re talking about….French food (cheeses and wine!), French boys (Ooh là là!), and French sights (I mean, come on, writing a paper in front of the Tour Eiffel certainly beats writing it in a dorm room…then again, I’m not sure how much of the paper would actually get written there..)

However, I’ll be leaving the country for about four months…in a country that speaks a different language. And has a reputation for being kind of…snobby.

Anyway, so the five things that I’m most worried about before leaving the country:

1. Language. I speak French pretty well, but I’m not really what I would consider fluent…. And on top of that, I’m going to be living with a nice older retired lady. That’s it. Just me and her. What if I don’t have a clue what she says when she talks? What if I can’t think of anything to say when we’re eating meals?

2. Culture Shock. I mean, I hear things….and when people tell me stories of things they’ve encountered in France, I shrug it off and just have a nice laissez-faire attitude. But sometimes, I’m really thinking, “WHAT THE HELL AM I GOING TO DO??” It really freaks me out sometimes.

3. Faith/God. I mean, I’m sure there’s churches there and it’s not like France is totally hostile to Christianity. I just mean, if I can’t find a solid group of Christian friends here in America, what are my chances of being able to do that in France??  Slim to none, my friends. Slim. To. None.

4. Friends. What if I have no friends? If the French think I’m just some freak and never want to speak to me? I mean, let’s be real, if I can’t break into American cliques, what makes me think I can do it in France?!

parisfashion

5. Fashion. I’ve never been someone who’s extraordinarily fashionable. I mean, for the first ten years of my life, I wore sweatpants and t-shirts. That’s it. For the next ten years of my life, I wore jeans and t-shirts. Not exactly the epitome of the Parisian fashion queen. Sure, for the last couple weeks I’ve been trying to step it up…but still, I just have this paranoia that someone is going to look at me and be like, “what do you think you’re doing? Who do you think you’re trying to fool?”

So there you have it! Until next time, IN PARIS! 🙂

Leave a Reply

