My Parisian Home


ImageImage

Well, I can’t believe it, but I’ve been in Paris for a month already. It’s a bit frightening to see how time is flying by. There’s so many things to do, and even when I don’t want to do them, I can just walk around the city and I’m bound to find something magical–whether it’s a cathedral or a passage or garden. I’m definitely coming back here after I graduate. Honestly, I feel more at home in Paris than I ever felt at Messiah. Maybe I was just born for city life? Image

This week hasn’t been the most exciting for exploring the city or going to museums. I started more classes and so I’ve mostly been just doing that. I started my phonetics class–it’s kind of frightening sometimes. I go into this room and put on these heavy duty headphones with microphones attached and then repeat phrases after our instructor. Sounds innocent, right? Sure…as long as I know what she’s saying. It’s really frustrating when I have no idea what she said so I’m just repeating general sounds.

My conferences are…long (only two hours). And in French (of course). I went to four conferences this week, but I’m probably to only stick with three of them. The one I’m dropping was really creepy–we watched this movie taking place in a historical era where a guy conspired with a lady that he would steal this other girl’s virtue and then dump her. It was a pretty awful movie. However, on a more positive note, my gastronomy class is AMAZING. I’m so excited to learn about French food!

Image

3 thoughts on “My Parisian Home

  1. Beth, it’s called “Les Liaisons dangereuses”, there are two versions–one is from 1959 directed by Roger Vadim et l’autre is from 1990 directed by Stephen Frears. The original novel is written by Choderlos de Laclos.

Leave a Reply

