Why? Why? Why? (Pourquoi!?)


So lately I’ve been talking about how much I love Paris. And it’s true, I definitely love Paris. But I’ve decided that this time around, instead of going on and on and on and on about how wonderful Paris is and all the awesome things I get to do, I’ve compiled a short list of things that just make me stop and ask “Why?????” 

HERE WE GO:

1.  Why is there a mini greenhouse in the Gare de Lyon Line 14 metro stop??

I mean, it looks nice, don’t get me wrong, but who thought of that? And why that particular stop? Why not just put one in all the line 14 stops? Basically: What is the story behind this?

Image

2. The sidewalks are NOT safe.

Alright, so just because you’re on the sidewalk does not mean that you can relax and not worry about being killed by a moving vehicle. If the bikes don’t get you, then the motorcycles might, and hey, you might even find a car driving up on the sidewalks too! 😛 

Image

3. Advertisements with women depicted as animals. 

I’ve never seen these in the States, but I saw one in Amsterdam (I think) and I see them a bunch in Paris. So far, I’ve seen cows, birds, pigs, and I think maybe a donkey? Suffice to say, I’m not really pleased with this form of advertising. 

Image

4. Why is there a metro stop named after Franklin D. Roosevelt?

 This one isn’t that surprising I suppose, I was just kind of surprised. I’m sure there’s a story written somewhere around that metro stop, but I’m too lazy to look for it. It is kind of amusing to listen to the French person read the name of the metro stop. It sounds funny to hear the name of an American president with a Parisian accent. 

Image

And that’s all I’ve got for now. Tomorrow I depart for Normandy!! 🙂 

 

One thought on “Why? Why? Why? (Pourquoi!?)

  1. For the advertising. It’s also decline with a bear-man, cougar-man, tiger-man etc. Not only women. Tss, tss ! Being feminist and see mal domination everywhere… Bad !

Leave a Reply

